COMP | A Final Helping Hand

Halfway there, and the project feels like it lacks substance, or a way to bring everything together into a single entity. The idea is to create some sort of immersive project that would allow users to experience their favourite movies from their local city, bringing together actors, film crew and fans together to talk about everything they want to about film. Applied to this concept was a secondary idea of a collection, using the idea of a passport to show the places you had ‘traveled’ to by watching movies from across the world, one of the specialities of MUBI.

To bring forth my ideas I created a short 30 second advert that encompasses the idea I am trying to design for, through from the use of well-known and lesser-known films along with a specifically picked soundtrack that would evoke the feeling of euphoria that is often felt when watching a movie that can be closely related to.

During my presentation I explained the concept to a group of peers along with tutors and was given feedback similar to what I was feeling, but with a way to solve the problem; to bring everything together I should create an umbrella brand, bringing everything I had created under the MUBI Passport title, unifying the separate elements to make them feel connected.

The video was disowned due it not performing as it should have, not depicting any of the core values of MUBI with specific context. While this was annoying thanks to the time spent making the video, it was just a bump in the road to creating a better product.

Further development would require time to bring everything together under the umbrella brand, and I felt that to do this I would need to redesign everything I had done so far to create a constant feel across all the different elements. This would be the final helping hand I would receive on the project by tutors, so everything afterwards and towards the D&AD deadline would need to be done by myself and help from my peers.

Leave a comment