BIG IDEA | Reflection

Working to such a short deadline on such a large spec project can always seem tedious, but it gives me the deadline to work to and help me achieve a goal at the end of the work. This project especially pushed the boundaries in allowing me to learn boundaries to work within as well as how hard to push myself to make the project work.

My concepts explored themes that I hadn’t previously worked with, especially the second idea that I developed that was more akin to a fine art piece than a piece of graphic communication. This pushing of discipline to its maximum made me realise that graphic design isn’t about what you learn from the classroom and experience around purely graphic design, but also the multitude of other experiences that you have with people and concepts in other disciplines, which is this case bordered on fine art.

The concept itself worked well, in my mind, at delivering the meaning of holism as I viewed it, and allowed other people to experience it through interaction, a continuing theme across work that I have done this year. I think the jump to involving the audience in the design was important on conveying the meaning which explicitly implies the involvement of everything the idea comes into contact with. If I worked more on the project, I would have created a range of these characterising sets, to build a space that was purely about holism.

Leave a comment