Analysing Me – The Final Major Project

Time to put on the big boy shoes because this is the final stepping stone to the end of a beginning. From what I’ve gathered, the Final Major Project is about showing what I can do within an area that I find interesting, that I love.

From the beginning I have always been invested in typography as a medium, though over time in seemed to have less of an impact on me personally and was more about creating work that used the correct font, and soon other areas of design wormed their way into my mind, piquing my interest in photography and screen-printing, as well as other areas outside of design such as ceramics, and art installations.

I have lately become more interested in typography once again as I used to, and is something I want to include in my FMP, but along with other interests that I have also followed in my years at university.


Over the last few months I have made an effort to making sure that ideas are as big as possible, perhaps so big that they cannot feasibly be made, but they can always be scaled down or trimmed; creating a concept is the hardest part of the design, so being as adventurous as possible allows for more ideas to flow.

When given this much freedom on a single project it does make me feel overwhelmed in the beginning, but I realise that getting on with the project, forcing out ideas, allows for progress and destroys this overwhelming feeling and allows for continuous ideas to come out.


With this short analysis of myself, I have begun to understand what I am interested in within the world of art and design; I chose to not limit myself to the discipline I have decided upon, but to be broad and challenge myself with what can be used to effectively communicate to an audience. I have decided to look at the idea of Form vs. Function and where graphic design sits in this intersection.

Leave a comment